Blocking of E-Way Bill

GSTN: Blocking of E-Way Bill (EWB) Generation Facility Resume After 15th August, 2021

1 minute, 47 seconds Read

The GSTN has issued Advisory for Taxpayers regarding Blocking of E-Way Bill (EWB) generation facility resume after 15th August, 2021.

1. As you might be aware that the facility of blocking E way bill generation had been temporarily suspended due to pandemic, in terms of Rule 138 E (a) and (b) of the CGST Rules, 2017, the E Way Bill generation facility of a person is liable to be restricted, in case the person fails to file their return in Form GSTR-3B / statement in CMP-08, for a consecutive period of two months / Quarters or more.

2. The government has now decided to resume the blocking of EWB generation facility on the EWB portal, for all the taxpayers in terms of Rule 138 E (a) and (b) of the CGST Rules, 2017, from 15th August onwards.

3. Thus, after 15th August 2021, the System will check the status of returns filed in Form GSTR-3B or the statements filed in Form GST CMP-08, and restrict the generation of EWB in case of:

  • Non filing of two or more returns in Form GSTR-3B for the months up to June, 2021 and
  • Non filing of 02 or more statements in Form GST CMP-08 for the quarters up to April to June, 2021

4. To avail continuous EWB generation facility on EWB Portal, you are therefore advised to file your pending GSTR 3B returns/ CMP-08 Statement immediately.

Note: Please ignore this update if you are not registered on the EWB portal.


1. Why my GSTIN is blocked for E-Way Bill generation facility?

Your GSTIN will be blocked for E-Way Bill generation facility in case, you have failed to file Form GSTR-3B return / Statement in FORM CMP-08, for last two or more consecutive tax periods.

2. How can my E-Way Bill generation facility be unblocked?

Your E-Way Bill generation facility would be automatically unblocked on the EWB Portal, if you file your GSTR-3B Return / Statement in FORM CMP-08 and the default in Return filing is reduced to less than two tax periods. You may also file online request for unblocking of E-Way Bill generation facility, in Form GST EWB 05, to your jurisdictional tax official.

Source: GST Website


EduTaxTuber Team

We are here to help for every updates related to everything...👍📙👍📗

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

UPI Transaction Limit Per Day JEE Mains Admit Card 2023 Released: Download Now RRB Group D Result 2022: नियुक्ति पत्र, JEE Main 2023: Registration Begin, Exam Date, How To Apply? Download And Install Tally Prime Free